The Silent Wife: A Novel (Large Print / Paperback)

Pre-Order Now Badge
The Silent Wife: A Novel Cover Image
$30.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


All he ever wanted was someone to love . . . 

Investigating the killing of a prisoner during a riot inside a state penitentiary, GBI investigator Will Trent is confronted with disturbing information. One of the inmates claims that he is innocent of a brutal attack for which he has always been the prime suspect. The man insists that he was framed by a corrupt law enforcement team led by Jeffrey Tolliver and that the real culprit is still out there—a serial killer who has systematically been preying on women across the state for years. If Will reopens the investigation and implicates the dead police officer with a hero’s reputation of wrongdoing, the opportunistic convict is willing to provide the information GBI needs about the riot murder.

Only days ago, another young woman was viciously murdered in a state park in northern Georgia. Is it a fluke, or could there be a serial killer on the loose?

As Will Trent digs into both crimes it becomes clear that he must solve the cold case in order to find the answer. Yet nearly a decade has passed—time for memories to fade, witnesses to vanish, evidence to disappear, and lies to become truth. But Will can’t crack either mystery without the help of the one person he doesn’t want involved: his girlfriend and Jeffrey Tolliver’s widow, medical examiner Sara Linton.

When the past and present begin to collide, Will realizes that everything he values is at stake . . .

About the Author


Karin Slaughter is one of the world’s most popular and acclaimed storytellers. Published in 120 countries with more than 35 million copies sold across the globe, her twenty novels include the Grant County and Will Trent books, as well as the Edgar-nominated Cop Town and the instant New York Times bestselling novels Pretty Girls, The Good DaughterPieces of Her, and The Last Widow. Slaughter is the founder of the Save the Libraries project—a nonprofit organization established to support libraries and library programming. A native of Georgia, she lives in Atlanta. Her standalone novel Pieces of Her is in development with Netflix and the Grant County and Will Trent series are in development for television.

Praise For…


“Slaughter adds depth to her best-selling series with the investigations of old and current cases, while also advancing the key personal relationship. Another slam dunk.”
Booklist (starred review) on The Silent Wife

"The emotionally sophisticated characters work through the brutality of their jobs in this dynamic psychological thriller and police procedural that will please readers of Slaughter’s “Grant County” series. For fans of Meg Gardiner, David Baldacci, and Carrie Smith."
Library Journal on The Silent Wife

“One of the boldest thriller writers working today.”
Tess Gerritsen, New York Times bestselling author

“Her talent is the equivalent of an Edgar Allan Poe or a Nathaniel Hawthorne . . . An exemplary storyteller, weaving her words with skill and intelligence. She will be recognized as one of the great talents of the 21st century and will hold an honored place in the realm of world literature.”
The Huffington Post

“It’s Slaughter’s prodigious gifts of characterization that make her stand out among thriller writers.”
Washington Post

"Slaughter delivers an unflinching, deeply empathetic exploration of the stigma surrounding rape and the enduring trauma suffered by its survivors."
Publishers Weekly on The Silent Wife

“There’s never a dull moment in Georgia with Karin Slaughter on the literary rampage.”
Washington Post on The Last Widow

“[The Last Widow] does what all great Slaughter books do: keeps you on the edge of your seat. It’s a chilling whodunit for our times.”
Parade on The Last Widow

“With a well-written, intriguing plot and an edge-of-the-seat ending, this is sure to keep readers up late into the night.”
Library Journal (starred review) on The Last Widow

“Slaughter’s work is like a professional athlete coming to the playground to show the kids how it’s done. With her themes, tensions and metaphors, she has a talent for classic literature that is often missing in recent fiction.”
RT Book Reviews

“Vivid characters and rapidly escalating stakes complement the riveting, adrenaline-fueled plot. Along the way, Slaughter examines such topics as misogyny, white nationalism, and the politicization of law enforcement. Thriller fans will devour this visceral, gratifying entry.”
Publishers Weekly on The Last Widow

“If you’re into mystery thrillers, then you’re into Karin Slaughter.” 
theSkimm

"Fiction doesn’t get any better than this.”
Jeffery DeaverNew York Times bestselling author
Product Details
ISBN: 9780062999160
ISBN-10: 0062999168
Large Print: Yes
Publisher: HarperLuxe
Publication Date: August 4th, 2020
Pages: 832
Language: English